The Aegis
Harford County

Bob Cassilly leads Billy Boniface by 2-1 margin in early Republican primary results for Harford county executive

State Sen. Bob Cassilly leads rival Billy Boniface by nearly a 2-to-1 margin in early Republican primary vote counting in the race for county executive in Harford County.


So far, Cassilly has received 16,990 votes – 67.8% of the vote – while Boniface, chief adviser to County Executive Barry Glassman, has received 8,044 votes, or 32.1%. The winner will face off against Blane Miller, III, the race’s lone Democrat who received 9,124 votes.

Cassilly expressed gratitude to his voters, supporters, and people who worked the polls for him and Boniface for “running a very spirited and energetic race.”


“People have spoken pretty decisively,” Cassilly said. “[I’m] looking forward to being the best county executive I can possibly be for the citizens of Harford County.

Boniface told The Aegis: “Congratulations to Mr. Cassilly,[I] wish him the best of luck. I’m very proud of my team, [I] thought they put on a good effort.”

Mail-in ballots will be counted over the course of three canvasses, starting Thursday. Stephanie Taylor, elections director for the Harford County Board of Elections, said canvassing should be finishing by July 29.

Glassman ran unopposed in the state comptroller’s Republican primary. He will face Democrat Brooke Lierman in the general election.

Alison Healey leads incumbent Al Peisinger in the Republican primary for Harford state’s attorney with 69.5% of the vote.

“I’m really looking forward to being Harford County’s first female state’s attorney,” Healey said.

Peisinger did not respond to The Aegis’ request for comment.

Four Harford County Council members, all Republicans, sought re-election, and three are leading in their races. Council president Patrick Vincenti leads challenger Rick Grambo with 66.5% of the vote; District F council member Curtis Beulah is leading Fernando Silva with 72.4% of the vote; and District C council member Tony Giangiordano ran unopposed in his primary, as did Evan Schaule for District C’s Democratic primary.


Council vice president Robert Wagner, of District E, however, is trailing Jessica Boyle-Tsottles who has 54.2% of the vote, ahead of Wagner’s 40.5%.

The three remaining County Council members are seeking other political offices. District A’s Andre Johnson, the council’s lone Democrat, leads in his primary for a House of Delegates seat for District 34A. Chad Shrodes, of District D, ran for clerk of the circuit court and trails Michelle Karczeski, 56.5% to 38.6%. Joe Woods, of District B, is running for the county’s Republican central committee.

Former Harford County council member Dion Guthrie is the current leader in the Democratic primary for District A, the only district with a Democrat council member. He received 45.1% of the votes so far. If he wins, Guthrie would face Republican David Woods, who ran opposed.

Aaron Penman leads District B’s Republican primary with 64.8% of the vote. No Democrats ran for District B.

In the tightest county council race, John Carl, Jr. has a narrow three percentage-point lead, 40.9% to 37.3%, over James Reilly, the county’s current circuit court clerk, for District D’s Republican nomination. Jean Salvatore ran unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

The Morning Sun

The Morning Sun


Get your morning news in your e-mail inbox. Get all the top news and sports from the

U.S. Rep. Andy Harris ran unopposed in the Republican primary for District 1′s House of Representatives seat. If elected, this would be his seventh term.


Heather Mizeur is Harris’ prime challenger, leading the District 1 Democratic primary with 67.7% of the vote. Mizeur served in the House of Delegates from 2007 to 2015 and ran for governor in 2014.

Harford County is represented in the Maryland General Assembly by districts 7, 34 and 35. Sen. J.B. Jennings, of District 7, ran unopposed in his race. No Democrats ran. Republican Christian Miele and Democrat Mary-Dulany James lead in the race for Cassilly’s District 34 Senate seat, with 74.1% and 64.8% of their respective votes. Sen. Jason Gallion leads the Republican primary to defend his District 35 seat with 49.6% of the vote.

Del. Lauren Arikan defended her seat in the House of Delegates in the newly drawn District 7B’s Republican primary with 53.7% over Del. Rick Impallaria, who had 34.3% of the vote. Arikan and Impallaria both currently serve as District 7 delegates, but the new District 7B only allows for one Harford representative. Medford Campbell III ran unopposed in the Democratic primary.

For District 34A, which has two seats, Harford County council member Andre Johnson and incumbent Del. Steve Johnson lead the Democratic race with 43.8% and 32.2% of the vote. Glen Glass and Teresa Walter lead the Republican primary with 37.9% and 32.2% of the vote.

Jay Ellenby, former chair of the Harford County Board of Commerce, holds a narrow lead for District 34B’s Republican House of Delegates primary over incumbent Del. Susan McComas, by a margin of only 34 votes. Gillian Miller ran unopposed for the seat’s Democratic primary.

Incumbent Dels. Teresa Reilly and Mike Griffith were the only two Republicans in the primary for District 35A’s two seats. Reilly had a small lead over Griffith, with 50.2% of the vote. No Democrats ran.